Press "Enter" to skip to content

Five Pillars Of Islam

What are the Five Pillars of Islam and why are they the basis for the Muslim
religion? The Five Pillars are the frameworks of a Muslims life. Revealed to
the prophet Muhammad by Allah, the Five Pillars are the basis of Islamic
religion. On another occasion, when the prophet (Muhammad) was asked to give
a definition of Islam, he named those five pillars.( The
Five Pillars are: bearing witness to Allah, establishing prayers, giving alms,
fasting during Ramadan, and making a pilgrimage to Mecca. The Five Pillars are
the major duties in the life of a Muslim. Shahadah is the first of the Five
Pillars in Islam. More specifically, Shahadah is a declaration of faith.

Included in this manifesto, a Muslim proclaims that Allah is the only God and
Muhammad is His messenger. He recognizes that God alone is the creator, that
He alone is the Provider and Sustainer, that He is the true Reality, the source
of all things of all benefit and harm.(
Muslims acknowledge that Allah has all authority and that Muhammad is the last
prophet in a long line of prophets sent by Allah. A declaration of faith is the
first pillar of Islam. Another pillar is the establishment of frequent prayer.

Pssst… we can write an original essay just for you.
Any subject. Any type of essay.
We’ll even meet a 3-hour deadline.

Get your price

Prayer in Islam is otherwise referred to as Salah. Salah is performed five times
everyday. No other form of worship can be compared to prayer(Salah), for it
is the basis of religion, without which there is no religion. (
Salah is a direct link between Allah and His worshipper. Rather that a priest, a
learned person in the Quran leads group prayers. Salah, or obligatory
prayers, is a pillar of Islam. The practice of performing charitable acts is
another pillar of Islam. Zakat, a tax, is a required expenditure for Muslims
each year. The word Zakat means both purification and growth. Our possessions
are purified by setting aside a proportion for those in need, and like the
pruning of plants, this cutting back balances and encourages new growth.(
Besides the Zakat, a Muslim may give additional alms if they choose to do so.

Charity is an important principle in Islamic religion. Observation of the fast
of the holy month of Ramadan is another pillar of Islam. During Ramadan, Muslims
abstain from eating, drinking, smoking, and marital intercourse during daylight
hours. This teaches the believers patience and self- control, as well as
reminding them of their responsibility for the millions of human beings in the
world who lack provisions or are victims of their unjust distribution.

( Manners and righteous deeds are also
stressed during the fast of Ramadan. The last pillar of Islam is the pilgrimage
to Mecca. According to Muslim tradition, Hajj, the annual pilgrimage to
Makkah is an obligation only for those who are physically and financially able
to perform it. ( Pilgrims who participate in
Hajj wear very simple garments so that all people stand equal before God.

Muslims pray for Allahs forgiveness while they fulfill the duty that is their
pilgrimage to Mecca. The Five Pillars are the basis of Islamic religion because
they structure the spiritual life of a Muslim person. Islam has five primary
obligations or pillars of faith that each Muslim must fulfill in his or her
lifetime. ( The Five Pillars help Muslims in their lives
because Islam is essentially personal or between God and the believer. The Five
Pillars are an integral part of a Muslim persons spiritual life.



I'm Lily

Would you like to get a custom essay? How about receiving a customized one?

Check it out